• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New to gas guns, 6mm arc build advice

Freediver111

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Feb 28, 2018
Oregon
I’m totally new to semi auto rifle builds so I have a few basic questions. When I say new to them I mean totally green. I own some semi 22lr’s and shotguns, but haven’t played around with very many semi auto rifles.

Not in any rush, but I’m thinking about a new build/purchase. I have plenty of precision bolt rifles, but never messed around with semis. Looking at 6mm arc for the chambering. Goals are an accurate platform for plinking out to 1,000, but also useful to hunt deer/coyotes with. I would be reloading for this, and prefer something on the lighter weight side for hunting.

Is it worth buying a complete rifle, or buy in pieces over time? I don’t have a budget at the moment, but I’m not necessarily budgeting on the highest end. Lowest cost without sacrificing performance I guess.

I’m thinking a 20” barrel, and would use it with my TBAC U7. Likely add a butt stock with adjustable cheek pad, and top it with something in the 4-18 mag range scope.

Looking around it seems there are plenty of uppers in the $600 range, but I have no idea if that’s a low end price for an upper or what? I don’t need the fanciest upper on the market. I don’t really care if it doesn’t have all the bells and whistles, but if it isn’t a reasonably accurate gun then I’ll be disappointed. Yeah, I know a semi won’t be as accurate as my bolt guns, but somewhere in the 1 MOA range of accuracy would suffice.

I see some uppers like Atheris offer adjustable gas block options. Is that a must or a luxury? Other than the upper what would you recommend to round out the build if you were to buy parts and build yourself?