• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New to long range / prs

bigperm720

Private
Minuteman
Mar 8, 2024
Kansas city
So I'm new to prs / long range shooting. I had the opportunity to go to a range near me with a guy that shoots prs and he let me use one of his guns. I was instantly hooked on getting setup to shoot matches but need to buy or build a rifle. I chose the building the rifle route. I'm trying to stay on a budget, does anyone have a recommendation for a good stock / chassis to look for new or used for around $700? Also I have been thinking about what muzzle break to run for a 6.5cm and have it down to the apa and area 419 breaks but don't know what one to get.

Basically in a nut shell I'm looking for some advice. So please impart some wisdom on a new guy to the scene. Very much appreciated.

You might find a used MPA BA Comp or ESR for around 700ish if youre patient. A PRS membership will save you some money at sponsor shops if you have to go new. Might be able to find a Foundation for around $1000 if you prefer stocks over chassis.

Go with the APA brake if you're looking the best recoil mitigation but the concussionwill be heavier. If you want the most comfortable to shoot brake will be an ACE . 419 makes a ton of really good stuff but in my opinion their muzzle brakes are not one of them. They're not great at recoil reduction and you still get the concussion.

There are MPAs in the PX right now for that price range. Go look for one and grab it.

Pass on the Area419 brake. It's ok but nothing great. Again go look in the PX as there have been some APAs in there. PVA Jet4 is another good option for recoil but also not beating up the shooter.