• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New to long range! R700 build

jlovell11b

Private
Minuteman
Sep 17, 2020
I have started acquiring parts to build a budget R700 in .308. So far this is the part list.
R700 sps .308
Vortex Razor Gen2 4.5-27x56
Spuhr Sp-4006
H&S Precision S/a Stock with adj. LOP and Cheek riser
Criterion MTU contour 26' barrel threaded w/ a VG6 Gamma brake

Things left to purchase include a rail, BDM and a bipod. I am wondering what kind of accuracy and range I could expect out of this setup. Did I go overkill on anything? anything I should do differently? Should I have the receiver screws upgraded to #8 and the action trued? Like the title states I am completely new to long range, my shooting experience only goes out to 300m while in the army. As you can see I have a lot of questions. I want to purchase a range finder and spotting scope next but completely unsure on the range this will be able to reach. Thanks!

I have started acquiring parts to build a budget R700 in .308. So far this is the part list.
R700 sps .308
Vortex Razor Gen2 4.5-27x56
Spuhr Sp-4006
H&S Precision S/a Stock with adj. LOP and Cheek riser
Criterion MTU contour 26' barrel threaded w/ a VG6 Gamma brake