• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New to reloading 6.5 CM

Dan Kierl

Private
Minuteman
Aug 11, 2022
Kansas
Hello everyone, I have been admiring this forum for quite some time and decided to join. As the title says...I am new to reloading and need some advice. The rifle I am shooting is a Bergara B14 BMP. I have been shooting factory loads and started having (elevation) inconsistencies out at 800 yards, so I decided to enter the world of reloading.

I decided to use the Berger 130gr VLD hunting and also the match bullets. H4350 with Lapua SRP brass, CCI 450 (magnum) primers. I chronographed 10 strings of five rounds starting at 39.1gr through 40.9gr in .2 gr increments. I found two single SD loads, one at 40.1 gr 2625 FPS and 4.1 SD. That group was pretty darn good....haven't measured but was .75 MOA min. (I really didn't try for groups). The 2nd good SD load was 40.5 gr at 2643 FPS and a SD of 7.0.

My question is, should I be ok with that 4.1 SD and a good group at 2625 FPS and begin seating depth testing to reduce the groups or continue developing the load in hopes of a low SD above my highest test load? The reason I ask is, I am not all hung up on speed, just accuracy out to 1335 yards (furthest available target).

Any and all suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Last edited:
I just took a first crack at developing two inital loads for a friend who has a Ruger RPR in 6.5 CM. The top two eyeball shots were with the 147 ELDM's and the nose shots were with the 140 match burners:

1660343974818.png

My son was not taking his time and had the two flyers. These are at 100 yards. Loads are:

Burner BT Match140gr2.770H4350
41.50​
RPRSimilar POI to the 147's. Good load.
Hornady ELD M147gr2.800H4350
41.00​