• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New to reloading What should I get?

gvcandyman

Private
Minuteman
Apr 12, 2010
I am new to guns but have become interested reloading. What presses do you think are the best for a beginner? What else I need to get? Thanks for all your help. I love getting all this good advice from you guys.

Re: New to reloading What should I get?

Either an RCBS RockChucker or a Redding Big Boss. Both are very good. Both companies have good customer service department.

I like the LEE AutoPrime priming tool. But to each his own.

There are several good powder measures on the market. I like most of them. Except the LEE. It seems to me like it really has some design problems.

For a beginner, start with standard dies from either Redding or RCBS. Other things can come as you need them.

The main thing you REALLY need to buy right now is the latest copy of Lyman's Centerfire Handloading Manual. Read the startup and safety sections at least twice. Lyman isn't trying to sell you primers, powder or bullets. It has more USABLE data than any 2 or 3 other handloading manuals.

My shpeal:
I have thousands of $ worth of reloading gear, and use very little of it.

I started with a rockchucker kit, and still use the:
1) Uniflow powder measure
2) 505 weight scale
3) chamfering tool.

These parts of the kit I don't use any more:
1) "Speer 12" handloading book
2) RCBS lube
3) Rockchucker press
4) loading blocks
5) RCBS powder funnel
6) Lube pad
7) RCBS priming system
8) RCBS case trim system
9) RCBS primer pocket cleaner brush

It is best to go to someone's house and watch them handload, and try it there. Other than that, one should either get started as cheap as possible with Lee, or cut to the chase and buy the Forster equipment.