• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suppressors New to side arms. Need help.

Gnab2

Private
Minuteman
Oct 10, 2007
Central Texas
Hello. I need a little help. I am new to the whole side arm deal. I am looking at getting a new pistol. I am torn between the SW M&P and the Springfield XD. I am looking at the .40 cals. What is the pros and cons to each? Which one do you have? Execpt for Glock is there a simialar alternative to these side arms?

Thanks

Re: New to side arms. Need help.

First off get a 9mm, the reason why is there alot easier to learn to shoot with and the ammo is cheap n easy to find, what's wrong with Glocks, they are the standard in reliability, they are as accurite as they need to be, and easy to shoot, M&P is a rebranded Sigma which was a giant POS, the XD is a fine pistol for 50% less than what Springfield charges for them, they are rebadged HS2000, which used to cost 225 bucks, SA on the side and the price went up 100%, have roll pins handy. Don't discount Sigs, avoid the way overpriced do nothing better than a Glock H&Ks, and if you can try before you buy, in Dallas there are ranges that rent pistols, last but least take some formal training on how effectively use a pistol.

Either will do. And nothing wrong with Glocks. I carried a Glock for 10yrs but recently switched to the M&P and love it.

You might want to take a look at some of the H&K pistols, specifically the older USP series or the new P30 series. I'm kind of partial to HK pistols in .40 myself.