• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New to the Hide (long) and Thanks

spamassassian

Sergeant
Minuteman
Feb 10, 2012
New Mexico, USA
Hi everyone - I'm one of the noobs around here. I've lurked since probably September or October of 2011, and already learned a great deal from all of you. Thanks for all the great info, by the way!

I started shooting when still a kid in the 1970s, and took the hunter safety training course way back then. I was so proud of that orange patch! In the late '80s I owned a few firearms - a couple of pistols and a Mini 14 which was always fun to shoot. Sold 'em all in '90 when I was a grad student living in student housing in LA and no firearms allowed.

I joined the AF in 1992 and learned a few things in basic training, including basic marksmanship and stripping/cleaning and shooting an M16 or whatever the plastic-stocked gas gun was that they gave us. I narrowly missed my marksman ribbon by one shot - still to this day I think I put two bullets through one hole, but I'm not bitter about it
wink.gif
. Got out of the AF in '96 after one term and haven't done much shooting since.

However, I did get years of "trigger time" in with an air rifle - an RWS Diana in .177. Just lots of backyard plinking, especially when I had a 1 acre plot in Connecticut. First with open sights, then later with a 4x scope. Sure - it's only an air rifle but I got awfully good with it - practice makes perfect, right?