• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

NEWB 700 SA build. Please don't hate me.

SirRoboftheBrown

Private
Minuteman
Jan 12, 2019
Va
Brand spankin new to the forum. Not quite so much in regards to shooting, but definitely to long range/bolt.

Picked up an sps varmint in 308 with a Vortex Viper Hst 6-24 x 50 already on it for $300. SUPER STEAL! First things first, out with the "tupperware stock" and on the market for new, even new to me. Need detachable mag upgrade. New rings and rail (currently cheapo stuff). I'm not a complete newb, but asking for some help. I prefer traditional stocks, but not opposed to a chassis system. I like the idea of a folder because of that 26" barrel, but never handeked one and not set on it. Had a B&C Medalist milled out for Bagder bottom metal, Badger rings and rails, and a Leupold Mk4 on a previous 700 AAC build years ago and had no complaints. Had some thoughts of cutting the barrel down/threading it and making a sudo-M40 clone, but don't think I can swing a grand for a stock that I have to wait forever for, and will require additional custom work and parts to complete. Not that I don't understand the difference in a McMillan and a B&C, Im just not that advanced of a shooter or as well funded (Read single father).

I want to be able to dail out to 1000 yards. This scope offers a MAX of 65 MOA of elevation travel. I believe this would get me there (isn't it like 40 MOA from 100?). Would there be an additional advantage to an MOA base?