• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Newb reloading for AR15 for LR Precision

Formosan

Private
Minuteman
Sep 10, 2009
Texas
I've been reloading for a couple of months using an AR15, 18" WOA barrel on a BCM upper i assembled, BCM lower with SSA-E trigger. The goal is to have a heavy bullet good for 3/4 MOA with a 10 shot group. Id like to be able to ring 8" plates at 600 yards consistently. I'm a decent shot with a bolt gun, and know it takes a little more shooting a gas gun.

Ive been load testing 10 of the more popular powders on 77gr Noslers with LC brass and half of them yield close to 1 MOA, some with a flyer. The most consistent seems to be 23.6gr of Ramshot Tact which was confirmed at 200 yards with a 10 shot group 0.9MOA horizontal spread and 2.1MOA vertical spread. This was with a volumetric dispenser and not weighing each powder load. It has worked surprisingly well, id say maybe ~95% of loads are +/- 0.08 gn if consistent with working the lever.

Now ive acquired some 69gr SMKs, 77gr SMKs, Hornady 68gr bthp, and Hornady 73gr ELDM. How do i go about testing loads on these 4 bullets without using up too many bullets. If anyone is willing to give a detail explanation on how precision is related to bullets, barrel, and powder selection, or know where one could find such information, id be very appreciative. TYIA.

Look at the top of the page of this forum (reloading forum). Theres a bunch of pinned posts that go over it all in detail.

You can also look up OCW method of load development, but that does take more bullets for that method. This is the method that yielded me my best results when I did my most recent AR load development with 75gr HPBT's.