• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Newbie buying first reloader for rifle Maybe Hornady Lock-n-Load Progressive

Bleuz

Private
Minuteman
Dec 16, 2018
Hello All, New member here. Just bought a new Tikka T3X Tac A1 cm, promptly sent it back to Barretta for a rail mount issue. It should be back in my hands in 4 weeks and then I hope to get started shooting. I have no reloading experience for rifles only shotgun. I only at this time need to reload for one caliber 6.5 CM. I have been looking at new kits or individual parts and am wondering if anyone here has experience with the Hornady lock - n -load progressive like this one

https://www.midsouthshooterssupply....MI-Kvwj6qy3wIVpiCtBh0IYAfhEAQYASABEgKqH_D_BwE

My concerns and they may be valid or newbie hogwash are 1 can you set the primer to varying depths or is it one size fits all and two can you make very small incremental adjustments on the powder charge or are the increments pretty course?

Any experience with this rig would be appreciated. Thank you!
Michael

As the owner of two Hornady lnl presses( which I love) I can tell you that I’m very happy to have had a fair amount of experience under my belt before trying to set up the progressives. My main concern with loading rookies and progressives is it’s VERY easy to get distracted and you forget a step and now all of a sudden it could get very dangerous.

Reactions: Bleuz
I started with the single stage hornady kit. I considered it my training wheels, It served it's purpose as I was in early stages of learning. That being said I have bought numerous more parts to upgrade some of the hornady stuff I have been using.

It's a great kit to start out with I would recommend it for sure.