• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Newbie here...who to buy my 1st rifle from?

jbp7hl

Private
Minuteman
Nov 23, 2020
CSTX
Ok I’m just starting and going with the typical newbie 6.5 in a tikka CTR or bergara HMR but I’m not sure who is the preferred dealer.

I’m in central Texas and all of my local shops have nothing.

Is there an online dealer that y’all recommend?

excited about this site and getting started, thanks for the help.

to me its all up to you and what you want i went to mile high shooting they gave me a what I call a fair price on the build I wanted and for what I asked for talked me through the process and explained how long it would take not long at all and I got the rifle i wanted very nice people great to work with and i can't wait to do my next build with them again even though I have to wait a bit longer this time .Good luck with your build or buy may it prove to be an even better shooter than you wanted .

Well I’m looking for probably 300 yard shots on typical Texas game. Coyote, whitetail, and HOG.

I also want to learn to reach a little further out there.

I was going to suggest KyGun. Have bought a couple rifles from them online. Prices were competitive and service was very good.
Unfortunately, looks like they are back ordered, too!

one in the px right now for $775. Also finding ammo right now is tough.

Found it.

rounds though is 690 (that an issue?), stock is new. I think I am looking for stainless but I’m looking at it.

thanks for the lead codiekfx400

Last edited:
690 shots fired is not a problem. Since ctr rifles are out of stock everywhere I would buy that one if it was me.