• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Newbie needs help learning scope use

Leam

Always Learning
Minuteman
Dec 22, 2020
TX
domiciwar.net
Hey all, I've been shooting for a few years, but never learned to use a scope. Now that I'm trying to, it's a struggle. With a decent rifle and scope, my groups are in the 4"-6" range at 100 yards, and it's all trigger-monkey error.

I have an adjustastable cheek rest, and wear corrective lenses in my glasses. A lot of my shooting is with a sling, so body angle can be a thing, but I'm also trying to learn bipod/bag. The struggle is that when I look through the scope and eliminate shadow, I'm looking through the upper inner portion of my eye, not the center. My glasses get in the way, if I try to push them down to shoot over them, the cheekrest pushes them back up. If they are up, the upper inner bridge of the glasses blocks part of the scope.

I don't mind not wearing glasses, but some ranges object. However, I'd really like some wisdom on resolving this so I can wear my glasses, if at all possible.

How can I fix this issue?

Lower your cheek rest or get higher rings so as to keep your head in a more upright position. Also, make sure you're putting the buttpad roughly on your collarbone/top of pectoral rather than the pocket of your shoulder.

I shoot without glasses and both eyes open. My prescription can be corrected by properly setting the diopter of the scope.

What height scope rings are you using? This can affect the head position behind the scope and consequently how you see out of it.