• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Hunting & Fishing newbie question on elk rifle

brknshk

Private
Minuteman
Jan 25, 2009
redmond, oregon
hey guys im new to the 45-70 round, i recently bought one to go hunt elk with this year. does anyone here have experience with the 45-70 and would it be a better round than my 7mm rem mag as far as hunting elk with? ive heard horror stories from my buddies about elk soaking up lead and i dont want to have to track for 3 days if i hit one with my 308 or 7mm. is this stuff true they tell me? any opinions would be great, i have hornady leverevolution rounds for my 45 70 right now. they are 325gr ftx with muzzle vel at 2050 fps and how far out do you guys think this round would be effective to?

Re: newbie question on elk rifle

I really wouldn't listen to them. Practice with either rifle and know their respective limitations as well as your own and both will kill an elk. They are not bullet proof.

I don't know what kind of elk these people are shooting but I've had the opposite response. Most of the elk I have shot or have seen shot either went down or trotted over about 20 yards and stood there acting sick (allowing another shot). A deer on the other hand will run till he dies. I have seen 3 elk shot with a 243 that dropped in their tracks. A 7mm is more than enough. Probably safer with 7mm, it will reach out further.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ffl medic</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I really wouldn't listen to them. Practice with either rifle and know their respective limitations as well as your own and both will kill an elk. They are not bullet proof. </div></div>