• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Newbie Question - Scopes and Reticle Styles

p712k

Private
Minuteman
Mar 18, 2009
Jax, FL
I just bought a Remington 700 PSS that I need to be a general purpose bolt gun, for hunting as well as (god forbid) tactical (SHTF) use. I am a newbie to precision rifles but have plenty of trigger time on ARs and other tactical rifles with ACOGs and other magnified optics, but all the CQB variety (1-5X). On those I just have to throw on the optics zero and go, this seems a little more complicated.

I am looking at a few scopes, either Weaver brand (Classic Extreme 2.5-10x56 with an illuminated reticle) or a SWFA Super Sniper. I am leaning to the Weaver since I already own several of their scopes (the 1.5-4.5 model) and they are quality pieces but the mil-dot reticule of the SWFA has me interested in them as well. The Weavers have a Dual-X style reticule instead of a mil-dot.

Re: Newbie Question - Scopes and Reticle Styles

IMO, a 56mm objective is only needed for night shooting.
Something with a 40mm or less will be much handier.
Didn't state your budget or how far (really) you plan to shoot.
Bushnell,Burris, Nikon and Leupold make many fine mid price scopes.
One current bargain (IMO) is the 3-9 30mm tube, 40mm objective,
Burris TAC with target knobs (under covers), a sexy green finish and a BDC reticle for about $230 from Natchez. I own everything from WW One Winchester A5s to Schmidt & Benders and I think this Burris is a deal (I bought two.)

FFII_tactical2_04.jpg

Budget is under $400 max, preferably under $300. The ranges I usually go to max out at 200 yds, there is one 600 yd range about two hours away, this would be the farthest I would ever plan on shooting.