• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes NF ATACR vs Leupold mark 5

Jgrovem110

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
May 6, 2018
hey guys looking at a leupold mark 5 5-25 and a nightforce atacr 5-25. just wanted hear some thoughts on why to pick one over the other

I only have Leupold and S&B so I have no experience with NF. Why is it so much better

Well I’d like to stay around 1500 , I get the mil/LE price on both

Leupold has a great discount not sure what nightforce offers for a discount

I never used a MK5 but I own two ATACR F1s (5x25 & 4-16) and one NXS F1. ...so I might be biased but Nightforce gets my money because they are rock solid, track, great glass (ATACR), customer service team is amazing, and I can use it to beat someone to death if I’m out of ammo. The Mil-XT is awesome in my 5-25 and I’m glad I went with it. If you don’t like grid reticles, go with the Mil-C. NF gets my money.

If you want illumination on a MK5, that’sgoing to come with an insane markup, whereas it’s standard on the ATACR. Leupold reticle selection is eh (to me) and another factor.

A lot of reputable people speak highly of the MK5 but they do the same for NF. Both are used on mil contracts.

If you’re struggling on a budget, then go snag one used from the PX. If you’re Mil/LE, hit up NF and Leupold to get in on their special pricing if you want new.

You aren’t getting a 5-25 ATACR for 1500, so if that’s your budget, go MK5. The only ATACR F1 you’d get for around that is a used 4-16...which is an awesome scope too.

If I only had 1500, the only scope I would consider is gen 2 razor....punches way above that price point but I digress...

Pick your reticle first then go from there.