• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Rifle Scopes Nikon Monarch Questions

squirrelsnpr

Private
Minuteman
Sep 25, 2009
Oakdale, CA
Re: Nikon Monarch Questions

These are actually pretty OK scopes. My friend has one on his rifle, and it is pretty clear for the price. It isn't hazy and the contrast is alright. It's not a bad choice for a budget, and you don't have to worry about a thing with it being on top of a .223.

I had a monarch on a 7mag hunting rifle that performed well for me. I didn't do alot of dialing but it got the job done.

Rthur

I have a nikon Buckmaster and a Bushnell 4200 and a MK4. How would this compare to any of those listed above?

The Monarch series is a nice scope at a good price. I had one on a model 70 in 300 Win that worked great for me up to 400 yards, not to many places in Illinois to shoot further. Monarch's have nice glass and a solid turret system. The 4-16x42 is ideal for anything from 100 yards out to 500+ depending on skill set. I also prefer a side focus to an adjustable objective, I just like to keep my eye behind the glass and theres less movement for me. Take a look at the Nikon "Spot On" technology. You can match the reticle to your exact load and it generates a ballistic table and readout for you automatically. Even diagrams a reticle and where the POI is at any distnace you want and any magnification for the scope. I used it at a shoot in St. Louis and walked a new rifle and scope I had never shot before from 100-600 yards without a miss.

Trevor B
OpticsPlanet