• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Range Report Noob goes to the range with new rifle

MattInFla

Private
Minuteman
Jan 7, 2019
Casselberry, FL
New to the precision rifle / target rifle game. I've been shooting for many years, but primarily in 'minute of bad guy' styles like IDPA / Carbine action shooting. This scoped rifle stuff is a completely different beast. :)

My setup is a Savage 110 Tactical in 6.5 Creedmoor, Sig Tango 4 4-24x50, Harris bipod, and a Spike's Tactical muzzle break (have to support my local awesomeness shop). I was shooting Hornady Black 140gr.

Pre-range day, I boresighted using a borrowed boresight device (with the high cheekpiece on the gun, you can't see directly down the bore), ran a couple swabs through the barrel, and dry fired for a while to get used to the trigger / cheekweld / etc.

Hit the range, and started at 25 yards to make sure the gun was close to sighted - and I'm glad I did - the boresight was way off. Expended a few rounds at 25 yards getting windage set correctly, and elevation reasonably close, and then moved to the 100 yard line to do the actual zero. All went well, and the rifle was quickly zeroed using the mil reticle to measure the correction required and apply it. After, that is, I stopped applying the corrections in the wrong direction, ASSuming the adjustments worked like the RDS optics on my other guns... I then slipped the turrets and set the elevation zero stop up as per the scope manual.

All in all, a nice start to the day at the range.

Rifle.jpg

I then settled down to learn some of the things that I didn't know that I didn't know. Which is rather a lot as it turns out.