• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Nox 35mm first impressions

1trkyhntr

Private
Minuteman
Oct 11, 2021
Virginia
I've only had it for 5 nights so my experience with it is pretty limited but I'll gladly share my thoughts so far.
I have been hunting with thermal for about 7-8 years and the Nox is the 6th thermal that I have owned so I do have some experience with thermals in general.

I'll start by picking at it a little.

You read my post about the battery status bar. I'm still evaluating that and I'll pay a lot closer attention to that. If I follow my usual protocol and recharge everything every other night that won't be a real issue but I would like an accurate battery meter especially at this price point. I remember reading somewhere that someone else had the same or similar issue but I never saw any follow up post about it.

I have a VERY small defective pixel, or something. It shows up within a minute of start up and will gradually get brighter. It disappears when I nuc but it gradually reappears. Again it is VERY small. Like the tiniest speck. It is not noticeable unless you have it angled to a contrasting background.
I can't hardly notice it at all on black hot and probably would not if I had not noticed it on white hot.

There is a rubber plug that fits into the video out port. On mine it fits pretty loose and it falls out with the slightest touch. On just about every stand or two I will notice that the plug has come out. It is attached by a rubber cord so I have not lost it but I do wish that it fit tighter.