• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

NRL22X for first match?

godofthunder

Sergeant
Supporter
Commercial Supporter
Minuteman
Oct 2, 2013
Nebraska
www.rustynutsdesigns.com
I'm new to precision rifle matches, but not to competitive shooting (lots of multi-gun). I got bit by the 22lr bug and have been shooting it a lot more lately with the intent of doing some NRL22. The closest/soonest match for me is mid-June and I think I would like to try it, but it is an NRL22X match. I feel I will be incredibly under-prepared but still have an itch to go.

Here's what I'm working with:
16" Tikka T1x
30MOA Area419 rail
6-24 Diambondback Tactical FFP
Harris Bipod
CCI Standard Velocity

I haven't gotten my hands on any better ammo to test, so I know that will hinder my performance at distance. I also don't have any sort of bags or anything (open to suggestions) other than my Harris bipod.

It can't be that bad if I go in with no expectations of doing well, right? Any "must have" things I could grab that might help me out? Probably at least going to pick up a rear bag and maybe an ARCA rail and some sort of bag that can attach to it.

You 'need' better ammo. SK Std+ or Match would be way better and it pops up as available like once a day somewhere it seams

Don't bother getting a rear bag(at all honestly) or gamechanger(fortune cookie, warhorse etc) till after the match.

Borrow peoples shit and see what you like

Have fun. Ask for advice(off the clock). And be safe.

My local NRL22 and 22x match director just told me to show up and learn. He said I'll learn more just trying it out than trying to come in completely ready.

This month was my first 22 match. Next month is my first 22x match, it's also a Regional level match.