• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Number of Factory Loads when Breaking In New Rifle?

Milf Dots

Milf Hunter Extraordinaire
Supporter
Minuteman
Oct 21, 2019
For shooters without reloading machines: How many different factory loads do you INITIALLY try when breaking in and zeroing a brand new rifle, and how many rounds of each do you initially buy?

It's tempting to buy ammo in bulk for the pricing, but there's always the chance the rifle might not like it.

At least 3-4 different factory loads, perhaps total of 40 rounds each, seems smart, but I'm a newb to precision rifle.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
Break in is around 200 rnds, So id say at least that. My gun builder has told me to clean once at 40 rnds then clean again around 200 rnds, then carbon the barrel and do load development. He was right. I saw an additional 50 fps after 200 rnds

Reactions: Saf3sh00t3r
Your not so much breaking in the rifle as you are breaking in the throat of the barrel by smoothing out tooling marks from the chambering process.
And yes as stated many barrels speed up at a certain round count and then should stabilize and become more consistent.

• Haha
Reactions: xphunter and Haney
For Service Rifle, I shoot 10 to 20 rounds to get a zero, clean the barrel, then clean after each match for a few matches. After that I go a couple hundred rounds between cleanings.

ETA: just noticed I am in the bolt action forum. Similar for bolt action but less rounds per match. I probably clean the bolt action every 100 rounds or so.

What caliber?
What is the intended purpose for the gun? (Hunting, target practice, etc.)
What ammo have you considered or are considering purchasing?

Thanks for the replies so far...

New Tikka T3x, 24" barrel in 6.5cm.