• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes NXS Help!---I'm a NF newb.

Short Round

Sergeant
Minuteman
Nov 10, 2005
Glens Falls, NY
I have a quick but simple question on my new NF 5.5-22 w/ zero stop.

I'm not setting the zero stop yet I just want to move my turrets to zero the knobs. I read the manual it says to loosen the allen screw 1.5-2 turns so that you turn the knob freely without changing your setting.

Well I loosen the screw and turn the knob and it's still clicking while I move it to the zero mark on the knob. IIRC my us optics knobs just glide without clicking so this makes me go "huh?".

Am I doing this wrong?

thanks,

sr

Re: NXS Help!---I'm a NF newb.

There are two screws 180 degrees from each other that have to be loosened in order for the cap to spin free and set the zero on your scope.

Don't be afraid to set the zero stop either it is quite easy to do and is a great feature of that scope. Hope this helps.

Done!

Thanks Treebasher!!

I might adjust things again. Yesterday I did the barrel break in procedure shooting on my .260 on FN SPR action. No pics yet as I was trying to get through twenty rounds before dark!

Not a speck of blue on any patch with all those cleanings. I like this Rock Creek barrel better than my .30 cal Obermeyer.

SR

Ah, got ya. Did the same thing while I was setting up eye relief etc...

What are you using for a bore cleaner? So far after hundreds of dollars and dozens of partially used bottles of snake oil I have completely switched over to Bore Tech products. I think that they make the best cleaning rod out there right now also.