• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suppressors Odd behavior/Unusual Pressure with new suppressor???

Dutch260

Online Training Member
Minuteman
Apr 10, 2017
Katy, TX
Just got my first can (TBAC Ultra 7) and took it for a spin today at the range. I had no idea what I had been missing all these years and don't see how I can ever shoot un-suppressed again.

However, I noticed what I thought was odd behavior when I started shooting my handloads suppressed. So I was shooting my 6.5 Creedmoor (TL3 w/Proof CF 24" Sendero) with my go to handload of 42Gr H4350 (143 ELD-X) which averages around 2740fps with historically no signs of pressure what so ever. I had recently done a barrel swap so I ran about 6 rounds of this load down the tube un-suppressed to re-zero with expected results. Expected normal velocities were there as well as sub MOA grouping with no signs of pressure.....perfect. Screwed on the new can and went through a 5 shot string in about 2 mins. Not rapid fire by any means. Shot #1 displayed same behavior as un-suppressed as far as velocity and no signs of pressure. Shot #2 showed a decrease in velocity by about 40 fps but still no signs of pressure. Shot #3 was low velocity and sticky bolt lift. Shot #4 was still down in velocity and borderline heavy bolt lift. By Shot #5 velocity was still down over 30 fps and was definitely a heavy bolt lift.