• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Ogive and bullet jump measurement

Sooter76

Private
Minuteman
Sep 14, 2012
Lincoln, NE
This is a more generalized question but hopefully someone can assuage my overthinking...

I’m not a complete beginner when it comes to reloading as I’ve been doing it for a few years but at the same time being military with deployments mixed in I’m not as experienced as I should be. Anyway, I was reloading .303 British today using a Forester Ultra Micrometer searing die I recently acquired in conjunction with a Hornady OAL Gauge to seat the bullet based on the ogive. Using a modified case I measured the depth a few times and based my ogive seating depth of 2.344 off the average. Even with the Forester die my seating depth measurement varied anywhere from a thousandth to a hundredth of an inch (+/-). I realize this isn’t much, but when I trying to work up for accuracy I’d like to eliminate as many variables as possible.

So I guess my question comes down to this, should I actually be seeing any variations in ogive measurement with the Forester die? And if so, how much will the thousandth and hundredth variation effect accuracy/grouping?

What bullets are you using?
Even expensive match bullets vary a bit.
Cheap bullets can vary a lot

Are you talking overall case length measured base to tip? or using the Hornady comparator and measuring base to ogive?

Using this?

Are you talking overall case length measured base to tip? or using the Hornady comparator and measuring base to ogive?

Using this?

Measuring at the ogive with a comparator insert.

This is a more generalized question but hopefully someone can assuage my overthinking...