• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

OK ... I'm stuck. (Literally)

rustyinbend

GySgt USMC 1976-1992
Supporter
Minuteman
  • Dec 9, 2018
    Bend, Oregon
    Newbie here. Did all my research, and even successfully did a "perfect" test cartridge minus primer and powder that came out to the exact specs I was targeting. So I got started working some volume case prep and now, after neck-sizing a dozen rounds without issue, I have one stuck in the Press and Neck Sizing Die. The ram goes all the way up, but only comes down about an inch ... not enough to see the case bottom below the die because of the spring-loaded sleeve on my Redding Competition Neck Sizing die.

I disassembled the top of the die, and the case neck is clearly visible inside the sizer bushing. But the damn thing won't budge. I can't get the die out from the top, and I can't get the ram out from the bottom. Unable to think of anything to do, I've needled a little penetrating oil (Kroil) on the neck-bushing area to let it ferment overnight, but I realize that's a stretch.

Searched for YouTube answers, but everything there shows the die removed with the stuck case inside ... not with the shell-holder stuck at the bottom too.

Help me Reloader Jedi Masters ... you're my only hope !!!

Here are the details:
    • Redding Big Boss II Press
    • Hornady 6.5 Creedmoor once-fired factory cases (clean and dry)
    • Redding Competition Neck-Sizing Die
    • .291 Bushing
    • Redding Imperial Sizing Die Wax for lube ... but clearly not enough.
    ANY ideas on what to do next would be MASSIVELY appreciated.

Can you see down to the base of the brass? Grab a wooden dowel, slide it into the case, and, ahem, persuade the brass down/out with a hammer.

Reactions: Smittiac