• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Ok, so really - ES/SD with Hornady brass?

DownhillFromHere

Aim > Impact > Take a Nap
Minuteman
Nov 30, 2017
Does anyone accomplish these single-digit ES/SD values I read about here using Hornady brass? Prime brass?

I've been reloading / handloading for 50+ years so I have a good grounding, but I've only been loading 6.5CM for a few months after a couple of decades' hiatus from bottleneck rifle. I'm using RCSB match dies on a Dillon 550 press, Sinclair mandrel for expanding after FL resize. Scale is an ancient RCBS beam scale with weights verified via check weights - it's consistent and accurate to under 0.1 grain. Trimming to 1.191" and chamfering with an equally ancient Forster trimmer and 3-in-1 head powered with a hand drill. Annealing via Anneal-eez. Rifle has a definite preference for Hornady 147 ELD-M factory ammo so I've been using that bullet with H4350 (41.3 grains gives 2799fps at best node so far). Seating depth trials between 0.015 and 0.030" off the lands. Concentricity is 0.002" or so. I'm getting 3/8-1/2" groups @100. Sometimes better, almost never worse.

My first few 5-shot strings did give single-digit spreads and deviations as I worked on OCW workup. The frustration is that after a few hundred rounds with both Hornady and Prime/Norma brass, the overall averages are 25-30 ES and SD of 9-11. Consistently ho-hum, about what I see with factory rounds.

Is this about what I can expect with cheaper brass? I'm going to try Lapua brass in the near future, but I have several hundred pieces of once-fired Hornady and Prime brass I'd like to use to its best capability.

Just shoot it! You’re doing fine.