• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Okay I give up...can anybody get this POF to shoot? Smith wanted...

dmike

Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 18, 2012
Northern VA
Sorry to any evangelicals out there but I have tried everything and it never gets better than about 1.2 MOA and it goes up to 2+. Driver issue? Anything is possible but seems like I'd get lucky at some point. I'll be the first to tell you I'm no expert, but this thing seems to suggest it's more than a driver issue. It's definitely been good for teaching me to focus on fundamentals, chasing any degree of consistency but enough is enough.

P308 14.5" 1:10

FAQs to save some time hopefully:
1. Is it the glass?
Could be. I have an SWFA SS on there now with Leupold rings. Bases at 65 inch-pounds, rings at 24 inch-pounds. In the beginning I had my Mark IV 4.5-14 on there, same results so I put the Leupold on a different rig that seemed more deserving. I have an 8-32 nxs I could throw on there if you think it's the SS.

2. Ammo?
I've tried a LOT of factory, factory match, load workups, you name it. 110-180 I believe. 175 GMM shoots about the same as Ventura M80 (example of a cartridge with lots of variability in HS, seating depth etc). In my load workups I'll get a 3-shot group that hints at a node but when I follow up to explore it's nowhere to be found.

3. Maybe I suck at handloading?