• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

tribalgunner60

Private
Minuteman
Apr 19, 2014
GA
Hello Everybody,

I am brand new to the sport of long-range (mostly a bow hunter kinda guy) and I am overwhelmed with all the information I've Googled, Binged, and Yahoo'd but thank goodness I was recommended to this forum by a friend. First of all, I really appreciate everything I've found here but so far I haven't found anything on my scope (Swarovski Habicht 3-12x50). Long story short, I picked up a Weatherby Accumark V in .300 Win Mag as a little post-deployment gift for myself. I wasn't in the market for something that large of a caliber but a guy at work was selling and I figured it would of been un-American of me to not take her of his hands. Anyways, after some asking around, I was told by a reputable source from the local shop to sight the rifle at 200 yards and leave it. What I didn't understand was why he mentioned that the scope was only good to 300-350 yards max and anything more that that I would have to hold over the target.

As of now I have some Hornady and Winchester 150 grain to help sight her in. So here's where I need help. In the long run, I would like to take full advantage of that rifle and her capabilities but don't know where/how to start. I was planning on keeping that scope on her and shooting the 150's just so I can sight her in 200 yards as suggested. What are other suggestions would you guys suggest? What optics/reticle should I focus my research on if I decide to sell the scope to match the rifle?

Thank you,
Tribalgunner60

Attachments

• DSCN1117.jpg
    DSCN1117.jpg
    671 KB · Views: 32