• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Omega 300 on ar15

predatornut

Sergeant
Minuteman
Feb 9, 2009
North Dakota
I am new to suppressors and am looking at getting an Omega 300 and a Warlock 22 on Silencerco’s bogo deal.

The Omega will be shared between a 20” .308 and an 18” ar15 in .223 (Wylde chamber) and the Warlock will be used on a bolt action 22. Use will be hunting and target practice, no competition or severe use.

Any reasons to avoid either of them? How does the Omega do on the ar platform? Is blowback an issue? Any issues with maintaining accuracy?

Any feedback is appreciated.

It will be a little overgassed compared to Surefire or purpose-built AR suppressor, but a majority of blowback can be mitigated by a suppressed bolt carrier and/or adjustable gas block.

I beat the hell out of mine on bolts and gas guns and haven’t had any issues whatsoever.

I've only shot a few mags so far with my Omega on my KAC SR-15, but it's certainly gassy. Definitely some gas coming out of the chamber, some would certainly find it unpleasant. That's also with the 6.5mm end cap mind you.

I believe the Omega is known to be a high back pressure can. Perhaps when used with an adjustable gas block it would be more optimal and pleasant.

That's my limited experience.

I use an Omega 30 on a 224 Valkyrie AR-15 and my 6XC precision bolt rifle. I have been very happy with it. I tuned the Valkyrie with an adjustable gas block, and I would highly recommend using one on any suppressed AR rifle. Accuracy has been good on both rifles.