• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Once Fired brass....What is happening here?

ABL_ZA

Private
Minuteman
Dec 4, 2021
Cape Town
I am preparing to reload for the first time. Can you help me diagnose what is going on here?

Disclaimer:
  • I am not sure if this is the right forum but we dealing with case measurements so maybe it is
  • I am a newbie, please help with my terminology if not correct.
  • I have never loaded but I am getting set up and doing the research.
Context:

I have a new rile - Tikka T3x 6.5CM (don't hate, finding left-hand factory rifles in South Africa is almost impossible)

I shot 5 rounds of factory 143gr ELDX and have some interesting results.

Results:

A heavy bolt
Case lengths (1.912 | 1.909 | 1.908 | 1.908 | 1.908)
On the Hornady Headspace comparator kit I get a headspace reading of 1.560 across all 5 cases
Using the Wilson Depth micrometer I get a hair under 0.100 (which is 0) which I believe means we are at max headspace

Diagnosis:

Does this mean my chamber is larger than SAAMI? SAAMI for 6.5CM max is 1.551
OR
If my Wilson Depth micrometer says we at max and SAAMI for 6.5CM max is 1.551 does that mean I need to recalibrate the micrometer?

The Wilson gages are awesome, but people here seem to overthink them. They are great because unlike a lot of case gages they don't require body sizing to use, so you can take a before and after measurement, but the only measurement that actually matters is the delta, not the absolute measure. So measure your fired case, then measure your sized case, and look for a decrease of .002 +-

It doesn't mean anything. Bump your shoulders .001 to .003 and quit worrying about SAAMI specs.