• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Opinions on Harbor Freight 9x20 Lathe

bronco_buster

Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 27, 2008
OH
I've got a chance to pick up a 9x20 Harbor Freight lathe for less than 600 bucks. I'm real tempted as I'd like to learn to use a lathe. That being said, I have never used a lathe before. I've read a little about these lathes and it seems like it has a few drawbacks...people say there isn't a drop in reliable 4 jaw chuck, and they complain of the lack of a tumbler gear. My question is, should this dissuade me or should I jump on it...it seems like a decent deal, but being a newb with zero experience I don't want to get something that you have to be an expert to set up to run true. Thanks.

Re: Opinions on Harbor Freight 9x20 Lathe

Its been my experience that 99% of the products sold by HF are good for one thing; creating fish habitat at the bottom of a lake.

Caveat emptor. . .

As a hobby lathe, it is probably OK to learn on.

Don't expect to do much precision work with it. As you become more experienced, you will likely want something nicer and you could sell it and move up.

I would stop looking at the HF stuff and just keep your eyes open on Craigslist instead for a used lathe. The manual machine market is in the buyers' favor now and some very good deals are to be had.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: bohem</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I would stop looking at the HF stuff and just keep your eyes open on Craigslist instead for a used lathe. The manual machine market is in the buyers' favor now and some very good deals are to be had. </div></div>

+1