• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Optic Choices for a Newbie

rowjimmy

Private
Minuteman
Feb 1, 2022
PA
Hello. I just purchased my first precision rifle, a Tikka T3x Tactical A1 in 6.5 Creedmor. The range I shoot at only goes out to 1k yards.

I'm trying to find a good optic. I'm a proponent of "buy once, cry once", but don't need the absolute best available.

My budget is flexible. Folks have recommended Vortex Viper PST Gen 2, but I don't mind spending a little more if the quality makes it worthwhile.

I found a Steiner T5Xi 5-25x 56 mm with a 34 mm tube on sale for $1,600, twice the vortex.

I'm no stranger to rifle shooting, and plan on taking some classes to start to learn precision rifle (I have a degree in physics so understanding the technical pieces aren't hard... putting them into practice will be the steep learning curve.)

I'd plan to shoot precision rifle comps and maybe hunt with it.

What would be your best recommendation for an optic fro my needs? (Sorry if I didn't give enough background info.)

Is the Seiner, at $600 off, a good enough deal to grab and go?

If you can go to 1600, can you go to 2200? Buy a used Schmidt bender 5-25 and just get an alpha.

Reactions: simonp
What is your budget?

Personally I stay away from vortex PST. Steiner T5 isn’t the same as the M5

I’d be looking at Athlon Cronus, Vortex Razor or Burris XTRIII in that price range. There are others as well

What your willing to spend will be a deciding factor

Reactions: JDB55
If you can go up to $1,600, I'd look for a good used Vortex Razor Gen2.

Or, if you can swing $2,500... This is a great deal, and a great optic.

This is a smoking deal @ $2,200!

1)Used/on Sale Vortex Razor gen 2 4.5-27x56
2a)Delta Stryker HD 4.5-30×56