• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

K-Bars OTF knives-like/dislike

lariat

Two Star General
Minuteman
Feb 11, 2018
Looking at OTF knives. What features/brands do you like? Which ones do I need to stay away from and why?

I've been collecting Microtech and OTF knives since 2005... Microtech is the original, and one of the best, and I have quite a few of them. Heretic Knives out of FL is another solid company with amazing products. I love my Manticore...Amazing piece of cutlery.

There was a company up until the end of 2019 that was making OTF knives that were clones of Microtech Ultratechs for under $150, and they are awesome knives! I've been carrying one since mid-2019. They're no longer in business. I'm guessing Microtech probably got pissed about them copying their products and selling them for half, or less, than a comparable Microtech knife. They were called MTN Forged. They sold them on Amazon, and used to have a website. But like I said, now they're completely off the map, like they never existed. I've had about 8 different ones, and ended up giving away about 4 of them away as Christmas presents to friends that can't afford Microtechs, and always drooled over mine. You might can find one of those MTN Forged knives for sale on eBay or something, maybe a local flea market type website, or FakeBook marketplace.

Stick with a Microtech, Heretic, Guardian Tactical, and other big name brands, if you want a quality piece with a warranty that will actually mean something down the road, because the company is still around. 👍🏼

Last edited:
Reactions: iceng
I've got a Halo V for sale if anyone is interested?