• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

PRS Talk Packs: 1 and 2 day match loadouts. What's your preference in a pack?

JR1200W3

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
Apr 21, 2020
I'm in the throes of starting to give a shit about a pack for matches. I've shot matches since 2007 and after a 6 year break where I lived in Europe I resumed shooting in 2015. I typically shoot two matches a month; NRL22, PRS, and renegade field matches. I've been using the same RRS TVC33, Terrapin & T X, bag, and gear for the last 4 years. Pretty much settled on a loadout. I've been using an Eberlestock Little Brother for these last 4 years and just suffered with it. It's pretty much a large formless sack and everything gets tossed inside. Sometimes I have to put a puff pillow I know I won't use to in the bottom just to absorb the space. In the late winter/ spring, I'll start off wearing a jacket and by the third stage it will have to go in the bottom of the bag so I need that space then. I've tried organizing everything but by the end of the day it's just a large dump pouch that goes on your back. I like that it pancakes open but the front/ shoulder strap side absorbs cactus and burs.

I bought a used pack on the PX that I thought might work just to try some shit out. Used it Saturday and it sucked. Too big, no organization, won't stand up on it's own.