• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Parallax / Focus Disconnect on Athlon Ares

Southern Custom

Master Engraver
Minuteman
  • So first I’ll admit I have limited experience using optics with parallax adjustment. This is my first year shooting with them. I’ve also never shot with any upper tier scopes. So my experience is limited to two scopes. With that being said I have an observation and I’m wondering if it’s a problem or just a fact of life.
    On my Athlon Ares BTR I was having some issues shooting groups one day that were bigger than my norm. Finally I checked parallax and I noticed something odd. If I brought the parallax into perfect focus, I had parallax shift. If I adjusted to the point I had zero parallax shift, I was slightly out of focus at the target. I’ve played with adjusting the diopter but that offered no difference. So, is this simply a quirk of a $800 scope that I should learn to live with or can I expect better from this Athlon? Have any of you running higher end scopes noticed this in your optics? I have no problem running like this but it’s a minor annoyance and if it’s something Athlon will remedy I’ll definitely pop it in the mail.

So first I’ll admit I have limited experience using optics with parallax adjustment. This is my first year shooting with them. I’ve also never shot with any upper tier scopes. So my experience is limited to two scopes. With that being said I have an observation and I’m wondering if it’s a problem or just a fact of life.