• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

planning my first build

rukwikenuf

Private
Minuteman
Jul 2, 2012
Minneapolis, MN
ok, i'm a total newbie. sorry. i've searched some, but not really gotten the information i wanted, so maybe someone here can help?

i'm looking to build a new rifle for target AND hunting. i'm hoping to get out west for antelope and Alaska for big game. this is admittedly a bit of a pipe dream, but that's my excuse for the next gun

ok, now that i've gotten that outta the way, i'm looking at either 7mm Rem Mag or 300 Win Mag. yes, i know a Magnum will destroy whitetail at the distances i'd have the chance to shoot in MN, but that's not the point.

i'd like to keep this in a reasonable budget (well under $2k with glass, hoping around $1200). i'm planning a good stock (probably an HS precision one), a muzzle break or sorts, and i'll probably lean toward a Vortex PST scope, cuz that's what i can get easily.

so, tell me the reasons i shouldn't get one or the other. i realize that a lot of people like the 300 Win Mag, but i'm kinda thinking that a main reason is because of military use. however, from what i've been seeing, 7mm Rem Mag is just as capable as the 300 Win Mag with lower recoil (not much though!)

tell me my folly folks. please

edit: i should add that i'm also going to try to keep the weight down on this bad-boy. in case i have to go on a trek across the frozen tundra of Alaska, or if i DO take it hunting in the swampy woods here in MN (my hike to the deer stand is around 2 miles+/-). i'm thinking a sporter contour bbl would be the way to go

Re: planning my first build