• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Plate carrier and plates

blister

Private
Minuteman
Feb 20, 2017
Looking for info for plates and carrier.never been in service(heart murmur) but with current state of USA looking for more extreme protections .I believe soon things will get much worse in this country.so any suggestions would be appreciated.

Set a budget.
You can get decent quality carriers from the likes of condor, coupled with AR500 or 550 steel and be out less than 300 bucks.
Or, you can buy high end shit for 900 to 1500.

I'm no expert but in the research I've done and talking to people I really trust, there is zero reason to get steel armor. You can get cheaper ceramic from the likes of RMA and a few others where you are trading weight for dollars. You are going to pay more for lighter weight as with most things. My main point: you've got a lot of reading to do and it can be a heated subject. Be ready for that.

don't waste your time with steel plates its garbage. I personally wouldn't even wear steel, I don't care how much bed liner you use your going to catch fragment somewhere you don't want.

I just picked up another set of level 4 plates that are just over 5 pounds and roughly an inch thick multi curve sapi cut. plates and carrier were around 800 dollars. that is dirt cheep and if you go with 1155 from RMA you can get even cheaper. Once I recover from this spree I will probably step up to Hesco 4800.