• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Please Help a Student Out - Receiver Drilling

Carolina Shooter

Private
Minuteman
Jul 10, 2011
NC
Fellas, I could use some help from those of you experienced with drilling and tapping receivers for scope mounts. This is a long one, so if you'll bear with me I'd appreciate it. I'm a student and I've been instructed on how to use a Forster Universal Sight Mounting Fixture. However, I've given a lot of thought to this methodology and I'm not confident I understand the best way to accomplish this. I'll admit up front I'm particular as hell. I'm not knocking what I've been taught but I also won't be satisfied until I'm sure I'm going about this the best way. I've also already used this fixture to install a one piece base on a Mauser that ended up cocked to one side. No biggie. That's part of the learning process I suppose, but I plan to get this figured out before I do another one.

Here's my first question. I've read through the instructions for the fixture carefully and here's one of the statements that jump out at me: "The V-blocks align the gun by the barrel. Even if the action is not exactly in line with the barrel, the fixture automatically corrects this error and drills the holes true with the barrel." This bothers me. It seems to me that this is not a correction at all, but is instead reinforcing a problem.