• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Please please please help. brass stretching too much.

prodigalson

Sergeant
Minuteman
Sep 21, 2012
Butler, PA
Straight to the point. I have begun collecting brass to start reloading for .223 to shoot in my AR15. I am new to reloading, but I have read enough and watched people enough to feel comfortable doing it myself.

I went out and bought an RCBS small base .223/5.56 die set. I set it up just like I was taught and what I've read (raise the ram, thread die until it touches, add 1/4 turn, lock it down). I grab a handful of once fired, mixed brass and start resizing. I get about 20-30 sized, then I begin pulling random samples to measure for case length.

My book states that the maximum case length for .223 is 1.760". Long story short, between the Lake City (5.56) and Remington (.223) brass approximately 80% of those cases are coming out over size. Usually measuring close to 1.768".

I really really don't want to trim all these cases by hand because I've already found out, that sucks. Is there something I could be doing wrong? Maybe the die is not set up correctly?

Just please help. I'm so frustrated about this. Thank you all!

You are not measuring the sizing to do that you would measure off the shoulder and body.

Straight to the point. I have begun collecting brass to start reloading for .223 to shoot in my AR15. I am new to reloading, but I have read enough and watched people enough to feel comfortable doing it myself.