• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Polarizing filter for rifle scopes

TXSGFmrCWO3

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Jun 30, 2018
Fort Bend County, Texas
I saw this topic mentioned briefly in another thread, but not much since.

I used to be a semi-pro photographer. The most useful filter I used was a polarizing filter. Think back to the vibrant colors of Miami on "CSI Miami." When you see Miami (or anyplace else for that matter) with nothing but your MK1 eyeballs, the colors are no where near as saturated because of the glare.

So, there I was at the range trying my best to see hits on the 200 yard target through the mirage and glare. What we need is a polarizing filter for rifle scopes, I thought.

It should have a quick adjust handle (maybe even spokes) and be click locked like the turrets. Regular photographic filters simply would not work with recoil since they are friction fit without any kind of locking.

I know it can be done, and I know it would be useful.

For the non-photographer audience, good polarizing lenses are of the highest quality optical glass and would not affect the POI.

Comments? Ideas?

I guess a film might work if it is in a frame that keeps it perfectly flat.

The only problem is a polarizing filter has to be rotated to filter out the correct waves.

I can see some kind of rubberized sleeve that locks the diopter ring by gripping further up on the scope body, then having some kind of rotating eyepiece of the ocular end.

Some manufacturers seem to be all stuck up with stupid ideas about not wanting to sell their little filters to us "normal people".

Just look online and grab the name brand ones when someone not a dealer has them up for sale.