• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Sidearms & Scatterguns Poor Man's Custom 1911

VJJPunisher

Necromancing the stone
Minuteman
Apr 30, 2010
prison purse
So I aquired a Rock Island 1911 in a trade for a Stoeger shotgun. It shot well and decided since I'm a Poor bastid i'd go about building it into something more high speed, cause Im a delta operator on the weekends. Basically set about doing or having done the things I'd want in a 1911 and decided this RIA was a good one to start as a base. the pic below is the earliest pic I have of it and keep in mind it did not have the Extended Slide, mag releases or Magwell on it

1911.jpg

I started by buying the two extended releases mentioned above from brownells, and a JamesCaan on here donated the magwell cause he's just a nice guy.

Next I wanted front slide serrations cut into it so I took it to GAP and flounder cut them and coated the slide in Cerakote

photo.jpg

THEN I wanted some type of texturing on the front and back strap cause the factory was smooth and gave no grip. I got with a good friend that has a mill and he did this to it...

1911-5.jpg

1911-4.jpg

AFTER THAT, I didnt much care for the stamp on the front lower part of the frame saying derka derka phillipines so I said to hell with it and ordered a Novak light rail from brownells. Well my machine savy buddy was out of town at this time so I took it back to GAP to have them drill and tap the frame for the rail and while they were at it coat the whole lower frame in black cerakote, one for the fact i wasnt a fan of the two-tone and two for protection on the bare metal cuts of the dimples, and three for the pure awsomeness.