• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Powder characteristics question for you gurus

XLR308

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
  • Mar 22, 2018
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    I have had a question floating around in my noggin for a few days that I can't seem to answer on my own. I have been reloading since the early 90's so not a total newbie.
    The primary powder in question is H100V but others with the same double formulation I would assume would be relevant.
    I am curious if this powder will have less of a sensitivity to temp changes if used in cases that allow a 100% case fill with no air gap in the powder colum and obviously not be running on the ragged edge of pressure but on the slower end of the spectrum for the case and bullet I am experimenting with.

While I cant for certain answer it I see the temp as a chemical effect and the case fill as a physical so no, I dont think that physically being fuller would help with it chemically being less energetic due to temp. Two independent variables.

I looked on Hodgdon's reloading website. H100V burn speed doesn't lend itself to just any cartridge case size but I did see one that might be a good test mule for your theory. Look at the new 6GT.
    In my mind, even if you found the perfect correlation between case volume and H100V temp sensitivity it would be so narrow as to not have much value.
    Especially considering there are powders out there that can do what you want in a broad spectrum of use.

Reactions: XLR308
    That's pretty much where I am at considering the property of the powders double base formulation is just more prone to velocity swings due to temp changes.