• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Powder weight variance

Shooterken

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 24, 2011
Central Ohio
I'm using 4350 and I'm dropping 42.5 grains of powder in a .260. I was told that a +/- .1 grain variance is acceptable. So would a charge of 42.4- 42.6 make that big of a variance in velocity and change the POI? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I'm new to reloading 260, but don't think it would make a big difference, but what do I know? If you weight your brass and batch it with primer, then weight your charged brass and sort it by final weight, then load your bullets. Go shoot the 42.5gr and those found to be over and under and just see what happens!

I often wonder the same thing.. Some lots, I measure to the hundreth of a grain, going so far as to clip a stick of IMR4064 in half to get it JUST right.. Others, I go +/- 0.1 grain.. Honestly, I havent seen much difference in groups, or in my velocity SD.. I'm sure some of the really good shooters can see the difference, but not at my level.. :)

not the same cartridge, but I have data from yesterday from my 308 over my chrony...

vel charge
2521 41
2566 42
2666 43
2694 44

Worst jump was 100 FPS for a 1gr change in charge weight.... so if it were linear, .1gr would be 10 FPS. Probably well inside the ES of most peoples loads. Smallest jump was 28 FPS... or 2.8 FPS per 0.1gr.

unless you are hand weighing on a tuned up magnetic dampened beam scale you'll be hard pressed to get better than 0.1 accuracy anyway.

There is an interesting article over at 6mmbr that evaluated scales, and accuracy.

short version:
volumetric charge +/- 0.4 gr
RCBS 5-10 +/- 0.15 gr
beam scale +/- 0.06 gr ( custom tuned)