Pre-Fit Barrel Shootout? Remington 700

Cclary60

Private
Minuteman
Apr 8, 2020
Arkansas
For those of you that have re-barreled a Remington 700, what did you use? I’m considering doing the Remage conversion.

I’m new to the bolt-gun building game. So far I’ve looked at barrels from the following manufacturers:

1. Preferred barrels
2. X-Caliber
3. Criterion
4. McGowen

All of these range from $350-$500 for a finished barrel chambered in .243 win.

I’m trying to decide which one to go with for a 26” .243 win build threaded 5/8x24.

Thoughts are appreciated.

Last edited:
Reactions: auskip07

Average guy

Online Training Member
Online Training Access
Belligerents
Minuteman
Dec 25, 2018
I have 4 Criterion Remage barrels. They are all very good shooters. The 6.5 creedmoor has been.4. The 2 6xc barrels have been.3. The 783 Remington prefit in 6br is a .4 barrel. I highly recommend these barrels. The fit and finish is top notch. I also recommend Northland shooters supply. James is very knowledgeable and will get you what you need.

Reactions: Matt_KJ and AHC222

Jabot

Private
Belligerents
Minuteman
Sep 2, 2014
I ve got both a criterion and a McGowan. Both shoot good. Criterion is a 223 ,I shoot the 75 gr. Hornady bthp ,7 twist , 26" 3010 fps , .3-.4 inch groups. The McGowan is a 6.5x47 , 26" ,8 twist. Shooting Berger 140 hybrids at 2810 fps , .3-.4 inch groups. The criterion was fairly easy to get to shoot, not to much load development, the McGowan took a little more work to get shooting good, especially compared to the other 6.5x47 barrels I've had

XLR308

Old Salt
Belligerents
Minuteman
Mar 22, 2018
Grand Junction, Colorado
I have a savage prefit in 243win 1-8" x 26"that has been excellent from the start.
Finding accurate loads with it was very easy with everything from 88-105 grain bullets with several different powders.
I don't think you would regret getting one.

Cclary60

Private
Minuteman
Apr 8, 2020
Arkansas