• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Precision AR

alan98

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jan 11, 2008
Pennsylvania
Hello, I wouldn't mind buying a precision AR instead of a .223 bolt rifle, but I have no real knowledge on which one to buy. Anyone with any recommendations. How is the DPMS Panther Bull 20? Bushmaster Varminter?? I have no idea which one might suit me best lol. Thanks for any help

Alan

Re: Precision AR

Hi Alan.

I built a heavy upper Varmint style AR a few months ago. I used the DPMS 20" stainless model.
It shot "OK....not great though. It had the 1:9 twist and seem to shoot best with 40gr. Nosler ammo. Best groups I could get with it were 3/4" to 1" five shot groups at 100yrds. I personally would not go with another DPMS...maybe someone else can wade in who had better luck with DPMS.
I had a Timney 3 lb. trigger in it and the limited times I shot it I never had a FTF.

Right now you might be hard pressed to find much of any kind of AR parts in stock.

Good luck to you.

Take care,Stan

PS...here is a pic of the one I built:

I bought a rifle from EDGERAT that has a 16" Talon Arms upper on a RRA lower. It will shot 60grn AMAX about 1/2 MOA to 600 when i can do my part. Great shooting gun and small enough to offer some versatility in shooting.

Anyone with any knowledge of the Rock River Predator Pursuit, or the RR Varmint? I'm considering one of these, just not sure if the bull barrel on the Varmint would be much better. I gotta get one ordered, who knows how long the wait will be to receive lol.

THanks,

Alan