• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Pressure signs?

tt350z

Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 24, 2009
Minot, ND
First off, I'd like to say that I am brand new to reloading and I don't personally know anybody that reloads centerfire ammo.

I usedthe sticky's by TreSMon and Lyman 49th as my guide.

Rifle used is in my sig, but here's the snapshot:
SAC built M2008
Bartlein MTU 1-11.25'' 30 cal barrel, chambered 308 SAC Match
Cut to 18.5 at muzzle from action face (20'' from boltface to muzzle)

Shooting condidtion:
64ºF
40% humidity
29.74 inHg
1600' ASL

Competition Electronics Pro Chrono Digital 10' from muzzle

I shot some factory loaded Nosler 168 gr Custom Competition ammo for a baseline to compare with my handloads to see if they had any pressure signs compared to the factory loaded stuff.

All pictures are linked to fullsize if you need to see a larger version.

Nosler 168 gr CC. The 3 on the left had signs of a small gas leak from the primer and the 4th on the right had the worst cratering. Some of the cases as slight mark from ejector

Advertised velocity 2750 FPS

Actual:
2737 FPS
2737 FPS
2726 FPS
2743 FPS

Avg: 2735 FPS

My loads:
1x fired American Eagle 7.62x51 MIA brass (what I have on hand)
shoulders bumped back .003''
cases trimmed to 2.005''
uniformed flash hole
SMK 175 gr
RL15
CCI 200 primer
.010'' into the lands
Ogive length 2.205''
OAL apprx 2.775ish'' (off the top of my head)