• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Primer Ignition problem......I need more Heads to ponder

Longtine

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
Dec 3, 2019
North Texas
Ok. Yes I'm new to this board......but I've been reloading for 35 years so I know a little about the how. So, here's the deal. I have 3 Bergara's. In the last month I bought an Approach in 7mm Magnum and a Highlander in 6.5 CM. On a hunt 3 weeks ago I took my son to Oklahoma. Using the Highlander and my reloads (Lapua small primer brass, 127 LRX, H4350 and CCI mag primers). We hunted 4 days and on that last morning a nice 10 point comes in. Son readies the gun.....click....put another round it.....click again. I dug another round out that was in my pocket, slammed it in and it fires. Ok, so i blew it off that since we left the rounds in the magazine of the rifle over the last 3 days maybe the heat, thaw, heat, thaw had an affect with the small rifle magnum primers and it was an ignition problem. So back to Texas and started to reload for the Approach in 7mm Mag (Nosler Brass, Rem brass, Retumbo, H1000, RL 22, RL 23, 168 VLD, CCI 250 primers). Over the course of all these loads and combinations that I was working on I had 12 miss Fires on at least once on all the powders and brass.

Background, my reloading bench is setup in an insulated shop but.....there is not heat and only air and some of the powders I have had over a year. Unopened.

1. Could it be the uncontrolled climate affecting primers or powder? Am I keeping the powders too long without using them?
2. I played with the seating depth to a point of leaving the primers flush and even protruding slightly out of the brass. I even seated the primers deeper than normal.