• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Primer pocket cleaning

KHOOKS

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 29, 2008
Central Alabama
Does not brushing out the carbon thats left after you tumble your brass for about 1.5 hours make difference in accuracy? Or is there any other problems this cause. I have loaded many handgun rounds and never cleaned the primer pocket other than what the tumbler does but I am new to precision rifle reloading.

Re: Primer pocket cleaning

Makes no difference in my experience. I quit doing it.

I would still make sure that media is not clogging the holes.

+1 I don't do it on my personal rounds. I've tested it, and I didn't see any difference. For customers match ammo on fired brass, I'll clean the pocket while I inspect the flash hole.

I agree, it makes no difference. Like Rafael said, I make sure nothing is in the flash hole, and that there is no other crud in the primer pocket that will affect seating the primer.

James

On tip on media in the flash-hole.....

I was getting about 20 out of 100 cases with walnut stuck in the hole, had to pick them out.
doc76251 suggested I spin them longer in my Midway media separator. I did just that and my last batch of 100 cases had only 2 cases with walnut still stuck in the hole.

Made a big difference just spinning a few more revolutions.

Yea, I have a good catch for that I put all may brass out of the tumble primer pocket up in my ammo case. I can check every flashhole quickly with a flash light before priming. I use a real small walnut shell media and don't get media in the flash hole a lot.