• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Primer pocket clenaing

Dildobaggins

Major Hide Member
Minuteman
  • Jun 26, 2020
    So I've successfully reloaded and shot about 500 rounds of 223. I took my cases and tumbled them in corncob media, and cleaned the primer pockets. I'm very new to this, and don't know if I'm being too picky or if they should be cleaned better. Thoughts? Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_20220302_143537_hdr.jpg
      IMG_20220302_143537_hdr.jpg
      301.7 KB · Views: 70
    if your happy with it it's all good . load it up and shoot it if you don't like the way it shot clean it beeter if you feel it will make that much differance I have not see it , but that does not mean that no one has .

Last edited:
    Reactions: NH4X
    I don't clean my primer pockets. Definitely not a world class shooter. I do, however, make sure that primers are firmly seated in the primer pockets. I don't believe it is a necessary task, nor that it affects accuracy, others may disagree.

I guess my question should have been will it effect ignition or accuracy? I cleaned the pockets with a Lyman multi tool, wondering if that's how they look normally.
    If you ran a scraper over them and that’s what’s left then it’s what’s left below the high points of brass which means it’s a wobbly pocket which is what I expect with Winchester. Cleaning it further will do nothing for you.

Reactions: Dildobaggins
    If you ran a scraper over them and that’s what’s left then it’s what’s left below the high points of brass which means it’s a wobbly pocket which is what I expect with Winchester. Cleaning it further will do nothing for you.