• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Primer pockets and seating... WTH!?!?

strat81

Misanthropic Realist
Minuteman
Oct 14, 2009
Hamilton County, Nebraska
I will preface this by saying I am not a novice reloader. I have tens of thousands of rounds handloaded with 9mm, .38 Special, .44 Mag, .45 ACP, .223 Rem, and 7.62x39. I am new to precision reloading, however.

6.5 Creedmoor Hornady brass is making me lose my mind. This is 1x brass from factory loaded ammo (140gr Match ELD-M) that I shot. I deprimed, cleaned in an ultrasonic, sized with a Forster full-length sizer, and expanded with a Sinclair mandrel die.

I started Thursday night with a brand new Hornady hand priming tool and Federal Gold Medal Match 210M large rifle primers.. I made it through 50 cases and my hands and arms were howling in pain. I'll chalk that up to bad arthritis - maybe a hand tool isn't for me simply because of lack of hand strength and arthritis. Some primed with an amount of effort I expected, others required me to push the tool into the table with my body weight for them to seat flush. Some were still slightly proud (they'd wiggle if placed on a flat machined surface).

So on Friday, I tried priming on press with my LNL AP. Stopped after 10. More than half weren't seating below flush. But, the LNL AP is notorious for not seating primers deeply enough.

So, I mounted up my old Lee Classic Turret with a Lee Safety Prime. That's the press I have the most experience with and the only time I had trouble priming was if a crimped primer pocket snuck into the mix. Otherwise, a gentle shove seated primers with no trouble.