• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Primer thing?

LG65CM

Private
Minuteman
Sep 29, 2017
Hey Everyone: I am new to reloading. Using RCBS press and RCBS dies. A couple weeks ago I was doing some loading. Loading once fired (by me) Hornady brass and using Winchester WLR primers. I had sized my brass, cleaned brass, including primer pockets. Upon priming, I noticed that a few times, a very fine filament (thread or hair like) piece of primer case about a third or so the circumference of the primer laying in the (now) empty primer holder. A sliver of shaving would be a description. Hard to describe and I did not take any photos.

Akin to what a clipped finger nail looks like only much much smaller and thread like in diameter. It was extremely difficult priming all the cases with these primers . The primers were old (judging by the box they were in) and I bought them at a reputible gun shop up in Prescott. I can't see any damage to the primers this happened to. The filaments seemed to have peeled from just below the round edge of the top of the primer (upper side of primer).

With effort the primers seated properly. Took effort to seat all of them, not just the ones I am talking about. Question: Has this happened to any of you? And what did you do? Use them anyway? Thanx all.

Did you clean the primer pockets with a primer pocket uniformer? It should not take a lot of effort to seat primers. Primer diameters haven't changed. Not likely with Hornady, but by any chance were the original primers crimped?

Thanx for reply superCD. Hornady brass, not crimped. I've used CCI and Federal and another box of WLRs in the same brass, and they seated nicely without any hitch, glitch or b... or additional force.